Digibus – Salzburg, Austria

In the near future, self-driving minibuses could be used in local public transport as shuttle service to and from intermodal mobility points or for the development of town centers. Automated minibuses are currently being tested in the flagship project “Digibus Austria” as a supplement to local public transport in Salzburg. The additional mobility offer attempts to solve the “first/last mile” problem. Fluidtime is responsible for integrating the new transport offer into a regional mobility system.

Customer & Partners

Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH coordinates a top-class partner consortium in which leading companies and research institutes along the entire value chain of local public transport (public transport) from vehicle providers to mobility service providers contribute to the results.

  • Virtual Vehicle Research Center
  • AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Universität Salzburg – Center für Human-Computer Interaction
  • Universität für Bodenkultur – Institut für Verkehrswesen
  • Factum Chaloupka & Risser OHG
  • Kapsch TrafficCom AG
  • PRISMA solutions EDV-Dienstleistungen GmbH
  • Commend International GmbH
  • HERRY Consult GmbH
  • ÖBB-Holding AG
  • EasyMile SAS
  • Land Salzburg
  • Land Niederösterreich

Details

  • The flagship project “Digibus Austria” is funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology with 2.5 million euros as part of the “Mobility of the Future” research track. The total costs amount to over 4 million euros.
  • The results of the pilot project “Digibus Austria” will form the basis for an Austrian reference model for the real testing and operation of highly or fully automated vehicles in local public transport.
  • All methods, technologies and models will be tested on one non-public and two public regional test tracks in Salzburg and Lower Austria. The first test drives for research purposes have been taking place in the Salzburg municipality of Koppl since June 2018.
  • Within the framework of the master project, traffic-safe operation at automation level 3 (“Conditional automation”, i.e. the driver must intervene on time if necessary) is demonstrated and the basis for reaching level 4 (“High automation”, i.e. no intervention is necessary, only certain driving scenarios) is created. The project also researches and tests methods of environmental and passenger interaction as well as the integration into a regional, intermodal mobility system.

Fluidtime services

Fluidtime is responsible for the integration of Digibus as a transport service into a regional mobility system and connects the transport service with local public transport.

Time schedule

The first test drives for research purposes will take place in the Salzburg municipality of Koppl from June 2018. The flagship project “Digibus Austria” runs from April 2018 to March 2021.

Digibus – Salzburg, Österreich

Selbstfahrende Minibusse könnten im Personennahverkehr zukünftig als Zu- und Abbringer zu intermodalen Mobilitätsknoten oder zur Erschließung von Ortszentren eingesetzt werden. Automatisierte Kleinbusse werden derzeit im Leitprojekt „Digibus Austria“ als Ergänzung zum öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Salzburg getestet. Mit dem zusätzlichen Mobilitätsangebot wird versucht das „Erste/Letze-Meile“-Problem zu lösen. Fluidtime verantwortet die Integration des neuen Transportangebots in ein regionales Mobilitätssystem.

Kunde & Partner

Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH koordiniert ein hochkarätiges Partnerkonsortium, in dem führende Unternehmen sowie Forschungsinstitute entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette des Öffentlichen Personen-Nahverkehrs (ÖPNV) vom Fahrzeuganbieter bis zum Mobilitätsdienstleister zu den Ergebnissen beitragen.

  • Virtual Vehicle Research Center
  • AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Universität Salzburg – Center für Human-Computer Interaction
  • Universität für Bodenkultur – Institut für Verkehrswesen
  • Factum Chaloupka & Risser OHG
  • Kapsch TrafficCom AG
  • PRISMA solutions EDV-Dienstleistungen GmbH
  • Commend International GmbH
  • HERRY Consult GmbH
  • ÖBB-Holding AG
  • EasyMile SAS
  • Land Salzburg
  • Land Niederösterreich

Details

  • Das Leitprojekt „Digibus Austria“ wird im Rahmen der Forschungsschiene „Mobilität der Zukunft“ vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie mit 2,5 Mio. Euro gefördert. Die Gesamtkosten belaufen sich auf über 4 Mio. Euro.
  • Die Ergebnisse aus dem Leitprojekt „Digibus Austria“ werden die Grundlage für ein österreichisches Referenzmodell für die Realerprobung und den Betrieb von hoch- bzw. vollautomatisierten Fahrzeugen im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr bilden.
  • Sämtliche Methoden, Technologien und Modelle werden auf einer nicht-öffentlichen sowie zwei öffentlichen, regionalen Teststrecken in Salzburg und Niederösterreich erprobt. Die ersten Testfahrten für Forschungszwecke finden seit Juni 2018 in der Salzburger Gemeinde Koppl stattfinden.
  • Im Rahmen des Leitprojekts werden der verkehrssichere Betrieb auf Automatisierungsstufe 3 („Bedingte Automatisierung“, d.h. der/die Fahrer/-in muss bei Bedarf zeitgerecht eingreifen) nachgewiesen und die Grundlagen für die Erreichung der Stufe 4 („Hochautomatisierung“, d.h. keine Eingriffe sind notwendig, nur bestimmte Fahrszenarien) geschaffen. Dabei erforscht und erprobt das Projekt vor allem auch Methoden der Umgebungs- und Fahrgastinteraktion sowie die Einbindung in ein regionales, intermodales Mobilitätssystem.

Aufgabe Fluidtime

Fluidtime verantwortet bei dem Projekt die Integration von Digibus als Transportangebot in ein regionales Mobilitätssystem und verbindet den Transport-Service mit dem öffentlichen Nahverkehr vor Ort.

Zeitplan

Die ersten Testfahrten für Forschungszwecke werden ab Juni 2018 in der Salzburger Gemeinde Koppl stattfinden. Das Leitprojekt „Digibus Austria“ läuft von April 2018 bis März 2021.